Got My Mind Set On You

B 5

Got My Mind Set On You

 Rudy Clark

3:50.

“Got My Mind Set on You (Extended Version)” (Clark) – 5:16

 

Originalmente grabada por James Ray en 1962

 

The [Cloud 9] album’s first single, Got My Mind Set On You, which was written by Rudy Clark

and recorded by R&B singer James Ray, is the sort of cocky early-rock kicker that formed Harrison’s musical tastes and that he still listens to regularly.”

Anthony DeCurtis (October 22, 1987 – Rolling Stone nº 511)

 

“I’d like to thank Rudy Clark,

who is the guy who actually wrote it years ago and nobody actually noticed it at that time.

But It’s lodged in the back of my brain, and, uh…

I know I did this sort of a poofta version of it,

Rudy, but if you’re listening, I love it.

And we chopped that bit out of the middle we didn’t like and got rid of the screaming girls, but…

It was a great song, actually…

It was a great song and, uh, Lenny Waranker was they guy who knew it was a hit single.”

George Harrison (February 10, 1988 – Rockline)

 

 

“The [Cloud Nine] record brought George Harrison’s first No. 1 hit for about a decade

with Got My Mind Set On You in the USA and a No. 2 in his home country,

which proved George’s decision right to choose Jeff as his producer and co-composer [for the Cloud Nine album].”

Patrik Guttenbacher, Marc Haines, & Alexander von Petersdorff (1996 Unexpected Messages)

 

“Got My Mind Set On You featured a heavy bass line by Jeff that was ahead for the times.

When the song broke onto the radio waves, it literally burst out at you from the speakers.

So distinct it was that Weird Al Yankovic copped it as a parody titled This Song’s Just Six Words Long.”

Brian Young (circa 2000 – Rock On! The Traveling Wilburys, The Trembling Westover published on delshannon.com)

 

“A Jim Keltner drum pattern inspired the recording of George’s biggest hit in a decade and a half.

The drum track on the record incorporated a drum machine loaded with samples of Keltner’s playing.

This was added to instrumentally, and metamorphosed into a song unlike any George had recorded previously.

The song itself was of course not a Harrison composition, having been written and recorded some 25 years previously by Rudy Clark (in fact, during the Beatles’ first visit to the US in February 1964, George can be seen in some pictures holding a Clark LP). Got My Mind Set On You was danceable, it was catchy, and it had everything a George Harrison single hadn’t had in almost ten years: huge mass appeal.

All formats of the promo versions of Got My Mind Set On You

(45, 12-inch and a first for any solo Beatle, a promo CD single) feature the LP version.

There were several promotional videos prepared for the song.

 

Gary Weiss directed while Kathryn Ireland produced the Got My Mind Set On You ‘den’ video

of which there were two edits (the second one didn’t feature

‘George’ looking exhausted after ‘his’ dancing number and was prepared on October 11, 1987).

 

Raw footage of the ‘den’ shoot, which took place at GMT Studios in Los Angeles over two days in early October, circulated among video collectors.

Willie Smax directed the ‘arcade’ video (completed on September 10th) which interspersed footage

of George and band giving a performance from within a nickelodeon, watched by a ‘poor little girl’ who is being squired by a ‘poor horny boy.’

The soundtrack of the arcade version included foley over the opening vignette.

Also circulating among collectors is a rough edit of the final arcade version and the complete nickelodeon performance which were filmed over two days in London. B

oth the reedited ‘den’ and final ‘arcade’ were shown extensively on MTV and the fledgling VH-1.”

Chip Madinger and Mark Easter (October 2000 – Eight Arms To Hold You – The Solo Beatles Compendium)

 

 

“[George Harrison and Jeff Lynne] discovered they shared a passion for an oscure James Ray song, Got My Mind Set On You,and worked it up for a laugh. The result was another Number One single for Harrison.”

Mikal Gilmore (2002 – Harrison)

 

“George Harrison was the first Beatle to set foot on American soil. In September 1963,

he spent a fortnight with his sister Louise, a resident of Benton, a small mining town in southern Illinois.

George wandered the trim streets, checked out the stores, and even made a booking for his band at the local country club (by the time the Beatles made it to the States, however, they were too big to play Benton).

He returned to the UK with a Rickenbacker 425 and a copy of James Ray’s Got My Mind Set on You.

Ray was a former GI from Washington, DC. Once his draft was through he picked up his singing career and aimed it at the soulful end of rhythm and blues.

He was living rough when the producer Gerry Granahan urged him into the studio. Got My Mind Set on You, penned by the prolific songwriter Rudy Clark, was recorded by Ray in 1961.

It skips around the yard to a bouncing, reggae-style beat, this lightweight tale of woe: ‘Everywhere I go, you know, bad luck follows me/ Every time I fall in love, I’m left in misery.’

The Beatles had already included Ray’s better-known If You Gotta Make a Fool of Somebody in their live set, before leaving Freddie and the Dreamers to kick it into the charts.

It’s unlikely that they considered Got My Mind Set on You, but the song stuck with Harrison. In 1987, the Quiet One was working on his third album of the Eighties at his home-studio in Henley, and he was in retro mode.

Ringo was behind the drums once more, and Clapton was sitting in on guitar.

Cloud Nine was, in part, a finely crafted, nostalgic look back to the Beatle years, ‘when we was fab’, as he wryly put it. Harrison no doubt nudged his mind back even further, to the days when he could still walk the streets of any town unhindered.

And he remembered that record by James Ray. Harrison’s cover of Got My Mind Set on You, arranged with the help of Jeff Lynne as producer, lost some of the original lyrics but otherwise is a vast improvement, a sweet piece of positive pop. Released as a single, it jumped to the top of the charts, providing him with his biggest hit since My Sweet Lord.”

Robert Webb (April 11, 2003 – article entitled Double Take: On Cover Versions from The Independent (London, UK))

“Songs like This Is Love and a cover of James Ray’s recording Got My Mind Set On You stand as being among Harrison’s best.”

Warren Zanes (April 2, 2009 – liner notes for Let It Roll: Songs By George Harrison)

 

Another first for George was the creation of an extended version of the song for a UK and European 12-inch single.

It was produced by the intrigingly-named ‘Sugarbaby’ and George, and it also appears on the Pegboy release 12 Arnold Grove.”

Chip Madinger and Mark Easter (October 2000 – Eight Arms To Hold You – The Solo Beatles Compendium)

 

I got my mind         set on you

I got my mind         set on you

I got my mind         set on you

I got my mind         set on you

 

But it’s gonna take money

A whole lotta spending money

It’s gonna take plenty of money

To do it right child

 

It’s gonna take time

A whole lot of precious time

It’s gonna take patience and time,     

ummm

To do it,     to do it,   

to do it, to do it, to do it,

To do it      right child

 

I got my mind         set on you

I got my mind         set on you

I got my mind         set on you

I got my mind         set on you

 

And this time I know it’s for real

The feelings that I feel

I know if I put my mind to it

I know that I really can do it

 

I got my mind          set on you       

Set on you

I got my mind          set on you      

Set on you

 

But it’s gonna take money

A whole lotta spending money

It’s gonna take plenty of money

To do it right child

 

It’s gonna take time

A whole lot of precious time

It’s gonna take patience and time,

ummm

To do it, to do it, to do it, to do it, to do it,

To do it right child

 

I got my mind         set on you

I got my mind         set on you

I got my mind         set on you

I got my mind         set on you

 

And this time I know it’s for real

The feelings that I feel

I know if I put my mind to it

I know that I really can do it

 

But it’s gonna take money

A whole lotta spending money

It’s gonna take plenty of money

To do it right child

 

It’s gonna take time

A whole lot of precious time

It’s gonna take patience and time,

ummm

To do it, to do it, to do it, to do it, to do it,

To do it right

 

Set on you

Set on you

Tengo mi pensamiento puesto en ti

Solo pienso en ti

Solo pienso en ti

Solo pienso en ti

 

Pero se necesitará dinero

Gastar mucho dinero

Se necesitará abundante dinero (un dineral)

Para hacerlo bien niña

 

Va a llevar tiempo

Un montón precioso tiempo

Llevará mucho tiempo y paciencia,

ummm

Lograrlo, lograrlo,

lograrlo

Lograrlo niña

 

Solo pienso en ti

Solo pienso en ti

Solo pienso en ti

Solo pienso en ti

 

Y esta vez se que son auténticos

Los sentimientos que tengo

Sé que si me concentro en eso

Sé que realmente podré lograrlo

 

Tengo mi mente puesta en ti

Puesta en ti

Tengo mi mente puesta en ti

Puesta en ti

 

Pero se necesitará dinero (va llevar, costará)

Gastar un montón de dinero

Se necesitará dinero en abundancia

Para lograrlo niña

 

Va a tomarme tiempo

Mucho tiempo precioso

Tomará mucho tiempo y paciencia,

ummm

Lograrlo, lograrlo, lograrlo

Lograrlo niña

 

Solo pienso en ti

Solo pienso en ti

Solo pienso en ti

Solo pienso en ti

 

Y esta vez se que son reales

Los sentimientos que tengo

Sé que si me concentro en eso

Sé que realmente podré lograrlo

 

Pero se necesitará dinero

Gastar mucho dinero

Se necesitará suficiente dinero

Para lograrlo niña

 

Va a tomarme tiempo

Mucho tiempo precioso

Tomará mucho tiempo y paciencia,

ummm

Lograrlo, lograrlo, lograrlo

Lograrlo niña

 

Pienso en ti

Pienso en ti …

Responder

