Scared

Last

Scared  – Asustado

2:48

 

Autor: Paul McCartney

 

Paul McCartney: vocals, piano, bass, vibraphone

 

Productor: Giles Martin

 image

  • The Observer, Sunday 13 October 2013
  • “Scared” – that seems to be specifically about Nancy.

    It’s McCartney admitting that he’s frightened to say he loves her.

    “Well, I’m just like anybody else, man! You know? You get those moments.

     I don’t normally write about them; but it’s a good thing to use.

    I was feeling it, as well. I was newly in love with Nancy,

    and I was finding it a little difficult to say, ‘I love you.’

    Number one, I’m a guy, and that’s a big excuse, I know,

    but it is a bit true to form…

     

    That song is basically about she and I,

    and the middle eight is about when we met.

    And we did exactly as I say in the song, we welled up.”

     

    They met in a surf shop in Long Island: McCartney was on holiday,

    cycling around, looking for sun cream.

    The reason they both had tears in their eyes was

    that Nancy had known Linda, Paul’s first wife.

    “Out of the blue, I met this girl and we started talking and she happened to say, ‘I knew Linda.’

    So that was emotional. I wouldn’t meet, typically, many people who knew Linda,

    and who knew her during her cancer treatment – and Nancy did.

    She’s a cancer survivor herself.

     

    So it got very deep, very quickly, and it was like,

    ‘What the hell was that?’

    And then I ran into her a couple of more times on the holiday,

    and we got to know each other and started dating.

    So the song is about that, about this depth of emotion, of feeling –

     but totally being scared to say or do anything about it.

    Like a tongue-tied teenager.”

     

    image

    Paul admite que se sentía un poco tímido, cuando por primera vez

     

    Comenzó a salir con Nancy Shevell en 2007

    Se conocieron en una tienda de surf en Long Island:

    McCartney estaba de vacaciones, iba bicicleta, en busca de la crema solar.

     

     “Esta canción es básicamente acerca de ella y yo,

    y el puente es de cuando nos conocimos.

    Y lo hicimos exactamente como digo en la canción”

     

    “De repente, me encontré con esta chica

    y empezamos a hablar y ella pasó a decir:”

    Yo conocí a Linda.

    Así que fue un encuentro emocional.

     

    La razón por la que los dos tenían lágrimas en sus ojos

    era que Nancy había conocido a Linda,.

    Nancy superó el cáncer, Linda ya sabemos cómo terminó la cosa.

    Y entonces me encontré con ella un par de veces más durante las vacaciones,

    y empezamos a salir

     

    Bueno, yo soy como cualquier otra persona,

    soy un chico, y esa es una gran excusa, lo sé.

    …y sólo se armó de valor para decirle cómo se sentía con una canción.

     

    I’m scared to say “I love you”

    Afraid to let you know

    That the simplest of words

    won’t come out of my mouth

     

    Though I’m dying

    to let them go

    Trying to let you know

     

    I have to say I’m sorry

    Don’t feel sad for me

    But the beautiful birds

    won’t fly out of their cage

     

    Though I’m trying

    to set them free

    Trying to let you see,

    How much you mean to me

     

    I remember the first time we met

    Tears in our eyes reflecting

    Something connecting

    From so long ago

     

    It might have been told in the stars

    maybe that’s what is was

    It doesn’t matter,  because …

     

    I’m still too scared to tell you

    Afraid to let you see

    That the simplest of words

    won’t come out of my mouth

     

    Though I’m dying

    to set them free

    Trying to let you see,

    How much it means to me

     

    How much you mean to me

    How much you mean to me now

    Tenía miedo de decir: te amo  (me asustaba)

    Temía hacerte saber (que supieras)

    que la más simple de las palabras

    no saldrían de mi boca

     

    Aunque me muero

    por dejarlas ir,

    intentando dejar que lo sepas

     

    Tengo que decir “lo siento”

    No te sientas triste por mí (culpa),

    pero los hermosos pájaros

    no quieren salir de su jaula

     

    Aunque estoy intentando

    ponerlas en libertad

    Tratando dejar que veas

    Cuanto significas para mí

     

    Recuerdo la primera vez que nos conocimos

    Las lágrimas en nuestros ojos reflejaban

    La conexión de algo

    De hace mucho tiempo (lejano)

     

    Podría haber sido informado en las estrellas,

    tal vez eso es lo que pasó

    No importa, porque …

     

    Todavía me asusta decirte que

    Temía hacerte ver

    que la más simple de las palabras

    no quería salir de mi boca

     

    Aunque me muero

    Por ponerlas en libertad

    Intento dejar que veas

    Cuanto significas para mí

     

    Cuanto significas para mí

    Cuanto significas para mí, ahora

    image

    Responder

