«On My Way to Work»

03

«On My Way to Work»  

3:43

image

Autor: Paul McCartney

 

Paul McCartney: vocals, guitar, bass guitar, ciguitar, piano, drums

Rusty Anderson: guitar

Brian Ray: guitar

Paul ‘Wix’ Wickens: guitar, piano, accordion

Toby Pitman: programming

Cathy Thompson, Laura Melhuish, Patrick Kiernan, Nina Foster: violin

Peter Lale, Rachel Robson: viola

Caroline Dale, Katherine Jenkinson, Chris Worsey: cello

Richard Pryce, Steve McManus: bass

 

Productor: Giles Martin

image

Liverpool: The bus, top deck, me going to work…

The specific work I was thinking of was my first job, as a second man on a lorry.

The second man helps the driver unload when you get to the destination; the driver is the first man.

He was very nice, my first man, because I was always knackered, and he would let me sleep.

I would help load up the lorry, then get in and just sleep until we got half an hour from the destination,

when he’d wake me up: ‘Oi, look lively!’

So, that was one of my jobs. I was also a coil winder in a factory.

But there was always the bus involved to get there, you know; nobody had a car.

Big green buses, always the upper deck, for a ciggie, getting to work, clocking on…”

 

soul-search: “remover conciencias”,  análisis profundo, examen de conciencia, examen profundo

a soul search:

 

Vino desde Chichester

A estudiar historia,

Se había quitado la ropa

Para tipos como yo

 

On my way to work

I rode a big green bus

I could see everything

From the upper deck

 

People came and went

Smoking cigarettes

I picked the packets up

When the people left

 

But all the time I thought of you

How far away the future seemed

How could I have so many dreams?

And one of them not come true

 

On my way to work

I bought a magazine

Inside a pretty girl

Liked to water ski

 

She came from Chichester

To study history

She had removed her clothes

For the likes of me

 

But all the time I thought of you

How would you know that I was there

How could a soul search everywhere

Without knowing what to do

 

On my way to work

As I was clocking in

I could see everything

How it came to be

 

People come and go

Smoking cigarettes

I pick the packed up

When the people leave

 

But all the time I think of you

How far away the future seems

How could I have so many dreams

And one of them not come true

 

On my way to work

 

But all the time I thought of you

How would you know that I was there

How could a soul search everywhere

Without knowing what to do

 

On my way to work

On my way to work

De camino a mi trabajo

Tomaba un gran autobús verde

Podía ver todo,

Desde el piso de arriba

 

La gente iba y venía

fumando cigarrillos

Yo recogía (subía) los paquetes

Cuando la gente los dejaba

 

Pero todo el tiempo pensaba en ti

Y cuán lejos el futuro parecía

¿Cómo pude tener tantos sueños?

Y ni uno de ellos hacerse realidad

 

De camino a mi trabajo

Me compraba una revista

Dentro una chica bonita

que le gustaba hacer esquí acuático

 

Vino desde Chichester (sur Inglaterra)

A estudiar historia,

Se había quitado la ropa

Para la gente como yo

 

Pero yo siempre pensaba en ti

Cómo podías tu saber que yo estaba allí

Cómo…

Sin saber qué hacer

 

De camino al trabajo

Mientras fichaba (puntual con Beatles?)

Pude ver todo

Como se produjo

 

La gente aparece y desaparece (presente)

fumando cigarrillos

Y recojo los paquetes

Cuando la gente los deja

 

Pero siempre pienso en ti

Cuán lejos el futuro parece

¿Cómo pude tener tantos sueños?

Y ni uno hacerse realidad

 

De mi camino al trabajo

 

Pero siempre pensaba en ti

Cómo sabrías que yo estaba allí

Cómo podía un alma buscar por todas partes

Sin saber qué hacer

       

En mi camino al trabajo

En mi camino al trabajo

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Responder

