Maggie Mae

 
 
 

Now you jolly sailor lads,

come listen to my tale,

I’m sure you will have cause

to pity me,

I was a damned young fool

in the port of Liverpool,

When I called there on my first port home from sea.

 

Oh Maggie, Maggie May

They have taken her away

To slave upon Van Dieman’s cruel shore.

Oh, you robbed so many whalers,

And dosed so many sailors

But you’ll never cruise ‘round

Peter Street no more.

 

I was staying at the Home,

from a voyage to Sierra Leone,

And two-pound-ten a month was all my pay,

As I jingled with my tin, I was easy taken in,

By a little girl up there called Maggie May.

 

Oh. I’ll never forget the day

when I first met Maggie May,

She was standing on a corner at Canning Place,

In a full-sized crin-o-line,

like a frigate of the line,

And as she saw I was a sailor I gave chase.

Chorus:

 

She gave me a saucy nod,

and I, like a farmer’s clod,

Let her take me line abreast in tow,

And under all plain sail,

we ran before the gale

And to the Crow’s Nest Tavern we did go.

 

Next morning when I woke,

I found that I was broke,

No shoes or shirt or trousers could I find,

When I asked her where they were,

she answers “My dear sir,

They’re down in Lewis‘ pawnshop number nine.”

 

So to Lewis’ I did go,

but no clothing could I find,

And the policeman took that wicked girl away,

And the judge he guilty found her,

of robbing a homeward-bounder,

And now she’s doing time in Botany Bay.

 

She was chained and sent away

from Liverpool one day,

The lads all cheered as she sailed down the bay,

And every sailor lad, he only was too glad

They’d sent that old whore out to Botany Bay.

Ahora alegres y jóvenes marineros,

venid a escuchar mi relato,

Estoy seguro que tendréis motivos

para compadecerme,

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tasmania (Australia)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

imageimage

image image

A

The Vipers Skiffle Group

The Cumberland Gap

Marzo de 1957

B

The Vipers Skiffle Group

Maggie May

 

 

Oh Maggie, Maggie May,

they have taken her away

And she’ll never walk down Lime street anymore

Well, that judge he guilty found her,

for robbin’ a homeward–bounder

You dirty, robbin’ no good Maggie May

 

Now, I was paid off at the Pool,

in the port of Liverpool

Well, three pound ten a week,

that was my pay

With a pocket full of tin,

 I was very soon taken in

By a gal with the name of Maggie May

 

Now, the first time I saw Maggie,

she took my breath away,

She was cruising up and down in Canning Place

She had a figure so divine,

her voice was so refined

Well, being a sailor I gave chase

 

Now, in the morning I awoke,

I was flat and stony broke

No jacket, trousers, waistcoat did I find

Oh, and when I asked her, where?

She said, “My very dear sir,

They’re down in Kelly’s pawnshop number nine”

 

To the pawnshop I did go,

no clothes there did I find

And the police, they took that gal away from me

And the judge he guilty found her

of robbin’ a homeward-bounder

She’ll never walk down Lime Street anymore

 

Oh Maggie, Maggie May, they have taken her away

And she’ll never walk down Lime street anymore

Well, that judge he guilty found her,

for robbin’ a homeward–bounder

You dirty, robbin’ no good Maggie May

 

 
 

[F]      Maggie Mae

Tradicional

image

Eric Griffiths • Colin Hanton • Rod Davis • John Lennon • Pete Shotton • Len Garry

image

Los Beatles cantaba esta canción tradicional desde antes de ser los Beatles.

Era una de las primeras canciones que interpretaron los Quarrymen,

en la famosa fiesta de Woolton, tras la cual Lennon conoció a McCartney, el 6 de julio de 1957.

“Lennon”: Ray Coleman (1985)

 

homeward bound:  (going home): marinero que vuelve a casa

Maggie: Terminó en Australia.  

 

 

07

« Maggie Mae »

0:38

Autor: Tradicional

Arreglada por Lennon-McCartney-Harrison-Starkey

Grabación: 24 Enero 1969

 

Lanzamiento: 08 Mayo 1970 (UK)

            18 Mayo 1970 (USA)

 

John Lennon – vocal, acoustic guitar – Gibson J-200

Paul McCartney vocal, acoustic guitar – Martin D-28

George Harrison  bass-line on electric guitar – Fender Telecaster

Ringo Starr – drums

image 

Fue grabada de forma espontánea entre tomas para “Two Of Us”.

En Let it be se incluyó por cabezonería de alguien.

Aunque es una parte de la historia Beatle, ya que solían cantarla, entre otras,

para calentar voces antes de una sesión de grabación.

Oh dirty Maggie Mae

 they have taken her away

And she never walk down Lime Street any more

 

Oh the judge he guilty found her

For robbing a homeward bounder

That dirty no good robbin’ Maggie Mae

 

To the port of Liverpool

They returned me to

Two pounds ten a week,

that was my pay

¡Oh! sucia Maggie Mae,

Se la han llevado lejos

Y ya nunca más baja por la calle Lima

 

¡Oh!  el juez la declaró culpable

de robar a un marinero que volvía a casa

Eso suciamente no es un buen robo Maggie Mae

 

Al puerto de Liverpool

Me han devuelto

Dos libras con diez a la semana,

esa era mi paga

De la misma saga – Volumen 2

Responder

