Homeward bound

1976

Homeward bound ● Paul Simon      (1966)

Inédita

Homeward bound duet with Paul Simon

By Paul Simon

De  “Saturday night live”, Emitido el 20 Noviembre 1976

 

1. Homeward Bound
2. Rock Island Line
3. Yesterday
4. Bridge Over Troubled Water
5.
Bye, Bye, Love (original song)

I’m sittin’ in the railway station,

Got a ticket for my destination,

mm-mm.

 

On a tour of one night stands,

My suitcase and guitar in hand

And ev’ry stop is neatly planned

For a poet and a one man band.

 

Homeward bound,

I wish I was,

Homeward bound.

 

Home were my thought’s escaping,

Home where my music’s playing,

Home where my love lies waiting

silently for me.

 

Ev’ry day’s an endless stream

Of cigarettes and magazines,

uh-hmm-hmm.

 

And each town looks the same to me,

The movies and the factories

And ev’ry stranger’s face I see

Reminds me that I long to be,

 

Homeward bound,

 I wish I was,

Homeward bound.

 

Home were my thought’s escaping,

Home where my music’s playing,

Home where my love lies waiting

silently for me.

 

Tonight I’ll sing my songs again,

And I’ll play the game and pretend,

 mm-mm.

 

But all my words come back to me

In shades of mediocrity

Like emptiness in harmony

I need someone to comfort me.

 

Homeward bound,

I wish I was,

Homeward bound.

 

Home were my thought’s escaping,

Home where my music’s playing,

Home where my love lies waiting

silently for me,

Silently for me.

Estoy sentado en la estación del ferrocarril

Tengo un billete para mi destino,

mm-mm.

 

En un viaje de una sola noche,

mi maleta y mi guitarra en la mano

Y cada parada está cuidadosamente planeada

 para un poeta y un solo hombre orquesta

 

Camino de casa, …

ojalá estuviese …

camino de casa,

 

Hogar donde mis pensamientos escapan,

Hogar donde está sonando mi música,

Hogar donde mi amor me espera echada

en silencio

 

Cada día es un interminable fluir …

de cigarrillos y revistas

uh-hmm-hmm

 

Y cada ciudad me parece la misma, 

con sus cines y fábricas,

y todas las caras desconocidas que veo … 

me recuerdan lo lejos que estoy

 

Camino de casa, …

ojalá estuviese …

 camino de casa,

 

Hogar donde escapan mis pensamientos,

Hogar donde está sonando mi música,

Hogar donde mi amor me espera echada

en silencio

 

Esta noche cantaré mis canciones, otra vez

seguiré el juego y fingiré,

mm-mm.

 

Pero todas mis letras vuelven a mí

entre sombras de mediocridad

como vacíos en la armonía

necesito que alguien me consuele.

 

Camino de casa;

ojalá estuviese

camino de casa,

 

Hogar donde escapan mis pensamientos,

Hogar donde está sonando mi música,

Hogar donde mi amor me espera

en silencio

en silencio a mí

Responder

